Skip navigation

Today, I fell in love. With an omelette

.mmmmmm fluffy omelette

I’m a huge fan of omelettes. In typical Berkeley fashion, my CSA delivers a dozen eggs to me every 2 weeks, which allows me to make a four egg omelette at least a couple times a month. Usually, it’s either a quickie meal, or an intense craving to eat breakfast for dinner which causes me to make omelettes, but today, I woke up wrapped around a fluffy blanket, and the thought “fluffy omelette” popped into my head. After a bit of googling about, I discovered a list of apocryphal things I could do to fluff up my omelette. Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 2-3 tbsp of milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Copious amounts of pepper
How to do it
  • Separate the egg yolks from the egg whites. I always saw them doing this on The Food Channel and thought it looked difficult, but it’s actually really easy. Get a bowl and break an egg roughly in half. Pour the yolk from one half of the shell to the other — the lighter egg whites will pour out into the bowl while the heavier yolks will stay in the shell.
  • Add the milk and salt to the egg whites. The purpose of these is basically to introduce air into your egg whites to make them fluffy. When the milk hits the pan, it will evaporate somewhat, leaving behind air bubbles. The salt somehow reacts with the whites and makes them fluffy through a process that I will, for the moment, call “black magick”.
  • Immersion blend the crap out of the egg whites. I started off slow at a low setting and then cranked it up to medium. It’s actually quite amazing — if you do it right, you’ll increase the volume of your egg whites by 30-40%, and there will be a nice little foam layer at the top. From what I understand, if you don’t have an immersion blender, you can also beat your egg whites into submission with good ol’ American effort and a fork.
  • Beat the yolks too, just for good measure. Break ’em up and make sure you have a yolky liquid that is somewhat consistent.
  • Fold the whites into the yolks. Folding was a term that was unknown to me before today — basically, you want to pour a small amount of the white into the yolks, then take a spoon and spoon parts of the heavier yolk from the bottom of the bowl over the top of the fluffy egg whites. The reasoning is that it’s a lighter form of blending so that when you’re done, in theory, you’ll have little layers of yolk in between layers of white.
  • Melt the butter in an omelette pan. I did this at an 8 setting (my stove goes up to 10). The internet indicates that you want your eggs to be at 160 degrees Fahrenheit so that the milk parts will evaporate and bubble up through your omelette, but this very specific number did not cause me to act in a scientific manner at all (I pretty much make everything on the stove at about an 8).
  • Pour the egg mixture in the pan
  • You’ll notice that the foamy bits on top might start cooking and sticking to the sides of your pan. Gently use the corner of a spatula and sort of peel them away and move them towards the gooey center of the omelette.
  • When the whole thing started to solidify, but the top was still moist (something around the consistency of Jello or tofu), I managed to flip it over with a spatula. If you’re good, I think you can do this with just the pan alone, but I really don’t understand how with a four egg omelette. I’m also conflicted about this step in general, because I kinda like my omelettes a little runny on top — it finishes cooking by the time you get to eating it, but it gives it a texture I like. I might try just covering it next time so the top cooks a little more.
  • Side note: At this point, the back of my omelette (after I had flipped it) was a beautiful golden brown color. It looked kinda flaky too.
  • After about 30 seconds, put the omelette on a plate and serve. I put lots of pepper on mine, since I love pepper.
Leave a Reply

